Isle of Ely Photographs

Ely Sub Divs
Home History Trade Sales
Cambridgeshire County Cambridge Boro City Huntingdonshire Isle of Ely Mid Anglia Peterborough

Isle of Ely Constabulary

 If you can ID any of the Isle of Ely please email me

The information for some of the pictures was given by PC Ken Mason Curator Cambridgeshire Police Museum (When we had one) also thanks to Roy Dudley, Chris Robinson for the War Memorial Photos. Pat Goodenough for ID on her farther, Donald (Bill) Hills Isle Police 1941-65 Mid Anglia to 1974. Cambs NARPO

click on Image for larger picture
PC23 PC? PC24 PC25 Sgt 11 PC39 PC23 John Bishop
PC55 PC4 PC20 Logan PC20 Logan PC 20 Logan
Group Photo
Isle Of Ely 1920

 Isle of Ely

Wisbech Div.

 Sept 1941

Police and Special Constables

Inspection By CC Capt. J. Rivett-Carnac M.C

Isle of Ely

Whittlesey Section


PC.61 Herbert Goodenough.2nd left

PC Charles (Charle) Williams 3rd left

PC45 Buckland 4th from left

PC38 Bertram Ward last on right

In charge of the Station at the time was

Inspector William Edgley with Sgt Charles Henry Goodwin

Any info on other Officers

 please email me

Whittlesey Specials

Manea Specials


Back Row

A Waters, S Moon, W Dunham, W Jeffries, C Beekin, E Allen, A Long

Front Row

D Toates,W Hawkins, H Brown, A Allpress, G Sears, W Fox, F Parson

Brass plaque currently fixed in the entrance foyer of Wisbech Police station War Memorials for officers of the Isle of Ely Police who died in WW1 and WW11





Isle of Ely Constabulary

last Federation Representatives

Back row Left to Right

Sgt G.Thomas Pc R.Goodwin. Pc.P.Carter. WPS. C.Willis. Pc. C.Chapman. Wpc A.Driver Sgt N.Rham. Sgt.G.Dodsley. Sgt D.B.Hills(Bill)


 Front Row Left to Right

Inspr K. Hookham. Inspr H.Goodenough. Inspr G.Brand. Inspr R. Miller ACC J. Davis Pc  W. Goodrum. Pc T.Dobbie. Inspr J. Morton.

Isle of Ely Constabulary

The first Triumph 200cc m'cycles in the Isle of  Ely Constabulary for village constables  they were collected from Rose's Garage at March early in 1953. 

Left to Right .

 Pc A. Sawyer FEB 15 (Coates) Pc D.B.Hills FEB 14 (Mepal) Pc G. Francis FEB 13 (Lt Downham) Pc I Woodruffe FEB 12 (Guyhirn)  Pc B.Dee Feb 11 (Tydd St Giles)

Isle of Ely


Isle of Ely team before

the war exact date not know.

Back Row L to R 

Chas Williams(Umpire)

 Bill Edgley. Bill Buckland

 Alan Sawyer.  ? Don Oldroyd 
  Front Row L to R

Rodney Blackwell. Bill Stanton.

Walter Eagle. Bert Lubbock.

 Charles Goodwin.

Isle of Ely Constabulary

1954 team that won 5 District PAA Cup.

Back Row L to R

    Bill Hills. Roland Dedman. Bob King. Norman Cracknell. Ben Ward. Norman Rham

Front Row L to R   

  Alan Sawyer. Charles Goodwin .Rodney Blackwell .Walter Eagle. Ken Bailey.


Triumph Saint BJE 22C Isle of Ely

(Courtesy Cambs NARPO)


(Courtesy Cambs NARPO)